Goal Number Two

My focus lately has been goal number two, Get Fit.

Last week, my sister and I joined a gym. It is one thing to join a gym, quite another to actually GO to the gym.  Right after Thanksgiving, I paid fora gym membership and had two sessions with a personal trainer. It would be easy for me to say that it was bad timing on my part and use all of the craziness of the holidays as an excuse for not going more often, but that would be a lie. I could easily have gone to the gym every evening on my way home and on Saturdays, but did I? Nope. I chose to half-ass my way through some Zumba and Pilates DVDs at home and play around, here and there, on the elliptical.

This time is different. Having my sister to go with me is a great help. We tend to push each other and she doesn’t let me get away with making excuses.  Since we’ve started going, I feel so good about myself.  So good, in fact, that when Sis had a work event last night I dragged off to the gym on my own.  I simply decided that I couldn’t let her excuse, however legitimate, be mine. And, the encouragement of my online friends always helps.  Thank you, Plurk buddies!

In a half-hour or so, we’ll trek off to the gym again and stop at the grocery store before the BIG STORM hits. BIG STORM where I live is anything where snow accumulations are expected to be over an inch. There is always a run on milk, eggs and bread, but I don’t care about any of that. My yogurt supply is getting dangerously low. Running out is not an option. Oh, and we need fat free half and half at the office.

As for the rest of my goals…

I am getting more organized. My office is mostly clean and my filofax is filled with all of my to do lists, appointments and plans. I’m journaling regularly and it is helping me to keep my thoughts organized and focused on my goals. I won’t lie, it was slow going at first, but they are starting to get more insightful and inspiring.

I am still logging my food intake, but I need to be more consistent. I was positively compulsive about it for a while, and I’m finding it hard to get back to that consistency.  I’m getting there, slowly but surely. And I suppose you can be the judge as to how well I’m doing on my goal to blog regularly.

Time to pull my yoga pants from the dryer, lace up my sneakers and throw my hair in a pony tail. My plan for tonight, in addition to strength training, is to run one minute out of every three during my 20 minute warm-up on the treadmill and complete a full five minutes on the stairmaster. I loathe cardio. But I want to be a runner. Go figure.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

