Some Days Are Harder Than Others

Today was one of those days. You know the kind I’m talking about. You start off with lots of plans and items to check off the To Do list and then Whammo! Life throws a monkey wrench and all of those carefully laid plans go right out the window.

Despite the unfinished items on my list, work was pretty good today. I really like the days when I get some extra face time with Doc. It is always good to sit down and just talk, you know? I didn’t have an opportunity to talk with him about the ONE BIG THING on my mind, but that’s okay, I am sure we’ll get to it tomorrow.

I might have already mentioned that I am the Insurance Coordinator for our practice. Today, I had a list of precertification and predetermination requests I wanted to complete. I’m trying to work ahead so that I know everything is complete and there are no loose ends to be tied up when I leave for vacation on February 12. Working with insurance companies is sometimes a bit of a maze. I do love the challenge, though. Nothing makes me happier than guiding our patients through the process and then calling them to say, “you are approved!” For most of our patients, the road to surgery is long and arduous.  I really can’t describe how gratifying it is to coach them through the process. Since I’ve had surgery myself, I get to do more coaching than before. It’s nice to be able to share my experiences with others.

The gym, though, THAT was a struggle. Oy! Sis and I have been going faithfully, and each session I feel like I get a little more out of it. I’m getting in at least 30 minutes of cardio and really amping up the weight training. But tonight, everything seemed harder. I was bored on the treadmill, bored on the bike, bored on the stairmaster (which has become my favorite piece of equipment, by the way) and I just couldn’t focus. When it came to weights, I couldn’t get motivated to stick to a routine. I try to do one night of lower body, one night of upper body, one night of abs and just keep rotating. Tonight I was all over the place…legs, arms, sit-ups, arms again. I feel like I worked out without accomplishing anything.

So that’s it. Today was kind of a meh day. But, I kept to my goals and didn’t let myself give in to the ennui.

Oh! I guess I should share my success from yesterday…I’ve melted away another 4 inches, bringing my total inches lost since June to 36. Three feet of excess me is now history. So, even if the scale is moving more slowly than I’d like, it is still moving and I am still getting smaller, healthier and more fit every day.

And, since I haven’t shared in a while, here’s the tally for today:

Breakfast: ProJoe Nillacino Protein Drink (20g Protein)
Lunch: Starkist Tuna Salad with 2 crackers (22g Protein)
Snack: Light String Cheese (8g Protein)
Dinner: Baked Chicken Breast with Broccoli & Cauliflower (24g Protein)
Post-Workout Treat: 100 Calorie Nesquik Chocolate Milk (8g Protein)

So, with that, I think I’ll borrow a line from Scarlett O’Hara…Tomorrow is another day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

